Day 4 Recap….

As I posted before, I did step on the scale to see if there has been any weight loss progress.  I can definitely feel the detox effect getting the crap/processed stuff out to eating how GOD intended for us to eat; whole foods.  My energy level was great to get through a Power HIIT workout and I was only slightly tired around 3PM.  But, the rainy weather could have put me in that mood.  I’m thinking about ditching coffee.  But maybe after I finish this jar of wonderful coconut creamer I have.  I just love it!  LOL

Regardless, I got the kids out of the house and to the Dam Neck Farmer’s Market.  I got some huge zucchini and even chayote squash.  I intend to make some Paleo Filipino Tinola, possibly tonight!  I just need to locate Whole9 approved chicken broth.  What I have here at the house contains “yeast extract” and “natural flavorings”.  If I’m going to do this right, I need to do this right.  No compromises.

Back to what I was saying about Day 4.  I did have a minor visit from the Sugar Demon/Beast/Dragon- and I caved.. oh yes, I caved and ate about 6 dates.  Yes, dates are Whole9 approved, but not this many!  I even cooked them into my marinara sauce for sweetness.  What I was actually missing from my day’s eating was the good fats.  I hadn’t had a single avocado all day or with dinner.  Nor did I cook with any good fats (olive oil, coconut oil) for our meals.  The FAT keeps the cravings at bay.  Who would have thought??

Breakfast: Faux’t Meal.  Lunch: Leftover Tilapia w/Eggplant from the night before.  Dinner:  Scotch Eggs sans the crunchy outside.

My version is hard boiled eggs wrapped in ground turkey that is seasoned with fennel seeds, garlic powder, italian seasoning, basil, oregano, and parsely.  I baked them at 375 for 25 minutes in a cupcake pan.  Drained the pan, and cooked them for another 10 minutes.  They are delicious! Darren took the one leftover egg to work today. And I think he ate a total of 4 of them since the little guys couldn’t finish their 2.  I should have served them with mayo- that would have been the FAT I was missing.  But instead just threw on some tabasco sauce.

My spiral slicer arrived yesterday.   So I had to go ahead and use it and the zucchini from the farmer’s market to make ZOODLES.  No more pasta for me if I can make noodles out of veggies.     They are so simple to make too.  Spiral slice zucchini into a bowl.  Cover bowl with plastic wrap.  Zap in the microwave for 2 minutes.  Drain zoodles  on pan lined with paper towels.  Toss with salt and pepper.  Wallah!  Zoodles!  Darren, Junior, Kayla, and I devoured them.  Ethan tried, but eh- he just wasn’t digging them.  But the boy doesn’t like spaghetti.  So I can’t blame him.

My marinara sauce was a can of plum tomatoes, 1/2 can of tomato paste, 4 dates whirled in the Nutribullet with a splash of water,salt, pepper, garlic powder, and italian seasoning.  Simple enough, right?

Here’s the end result. Forgive my old Smartphone for taking blurry pictures, please.

Imagesc

Leave a Reply

